My introduction to Stock Market!

Aaradhya Tiwari
2 min readNov 6, 2020

--

“Stock Market controls everything, We can’t control the market.”
This is what I learned from a recently released web series on the Harshad Mehta Scam that just changed the whole outlook of our stock exchange.

Who would have thought that a man will try to rig the whole market according to his will and of course it didn’t end well for him.

I learnt a lot about our nation’s whole stock market and other institutions from this series but my real interest for stock market rose when Reliance and Mukesh Ambani startled the whole world with their telecom revolution and their growing share prices.

I am long acquainted with this term i.e. Stock Market. I belong to a finance background so all this really fascinated me, but it all seemed too complicated in high school. Then, COVID happened.

Everyone thought every business is going to fail but the way Reliance emerged out of the crisis was something very unusual.

This aroused my curiosity and there was this sudden urge in me to learn something new and the stock market looked like the best option. I attended several workshops and I learned about various kinds of factors that go into the stock market. I learned about IPOs, FPOs, Rights issue, our Stock exchanges and of course, real battleground, the market. It was all so foreign yet familiar to me.

As I got to know about these things, I got eager to dig deeper into this stuff. Now and then, I would just go on the web, search out the share prices of various big companies and would look at their reports and data to find out the reason for their share price. there were so many companies whose share prices were sky high but they weren’t as famous as others. whereas others weren’t even that recognized but their share price was fluctuating rapidly.

The history of the stock market and how it led to the rise and fall of so many major companies and people out there was really thrilling. From Investors to charts and intraday trading etc., there were so many things to learn and I just couldn’t get enough of it.

My favorite part was to know about those companies and institutions which were the most uncanny. There was JP group and Anil Ambani’s Reliance, Sun Pharma, Eicher Motors and others too. The changes that happened within these organizations led to a huge change in their share prices. And share market threw some into enormous debts and others to all the riches.

All this motivated me to invest too and I have done a lot of research since then. I am looking for both technical and fundamental aspects of analysis and all the things I would need to know before investing.

So fingers crossed for my stock market debut (simple long term investing, not trying to become Warren Buffet). I am hoping this would be fruitful and worth the efforts.

--

--